The fishy ingredient in beer that bothers vegetarians.
As you may have guessed, vegetarians are thin on the ground here are Hairy Bar Snacks, but each to their own. If you are happy, then I am happy, there’s nothing worse than people moaning about stuff, anyway…
When beer is made, it’s cloudy. you can clear the cloudiness by adding ‘fining agents‘ these drag the sediment to the bottom of the beer, which you will then never see/drink. The primary beer fining agent is called isinglass a gelatin derived from the swim bladders (up and down airbag) of fish. So there are two ways we can think about this, 1. try not to use animals if possible 2. if using an animal, try to use every God damned bit of it.
CAMRA is calling on brewers to investigate alternatives for their drinks, so read more from the source The fishy ingredient in beer that bothers vegetarians – BBC News